Book of the Week/Free Press Book Review 8/28/12

The Other Half of Me (Free Press, 2012) is a the debut novel by Morgan McCarthy that I found an accomplished piece of work.

The Other Half of Me follows Jonathan as he journeys through his life in an affluent well-known family. His sister, Theo, journeys with him as they interact with those who enter their lives – their unloving mother Alicia, their hugely successful grandmother Eve, and childhood friends Nick and Maria.

The novel caught my attention from the start and held it until the very last chapter. There’s a feeling of sadness throughout this book, so I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone in a depressed or sad mood to begin with. There’s actually parts that brought tears to my eyes, which doesn’t happen with many books I’ve read.

The Other Half of Me reveals family secrets the reader never saw coming (well, at least I didn’t at first), along with some tragic outcomes. This isn’t light reading; as a matter of fact, there’s many instances where the story line becomes very intense. In any case, The Other Half of Me is a beautifully written story, something rarely accomplished by debut authors.

Rating: 5.0/5.0

