The 17-Day Diet by Dr. Mike Moreno

As long as most of us can remember, the market has been saturated with diet books promising us one miracle after another. The advice in such books worked – at least for a short while, yet neither were easy to follow nor offered long-term results.Dr. Mike Moreno’s The 17 Day Diet: A Doctor’s Plan Designed for Rapid Results(Free Press, 2011) shows while there is no real cure for the obesity epidemic, there is a solution to weight loss that’s both easy to follow and contains some common sense in between.Dr. Mike’s plan contains no pre-packaged meals, no complicated steps, public weigh-ins, no long hours at the gym (Dr. Mike encourages that 17 minutes of exercise per day is sufficient), special drugs, or counting calories. Instead, there are four safe 17-day cycles to follow:Accelerate: This is the rapid weight loss portion, which the person could lose up to 12 pounds in the initial 17-day period. This step also helps flush fat storage from the system.

Activate: The metabolic restarting process, alternating high and low calorie days to help lose body fat.

Achieve: Learning portion control and developing fitness routines.

Arrive: Combining the previous three cycles to maintain your goal weight. At this stage, you can even cheat on the weekends!

Each stage of The 17-Day Diet offers sample menus and recipes for delicious meals to make working this weight loss plan less boring. You can even have your morning coffee with Truvia and the occasional glass of wine, all the while not feeling deprived (even during the Accelerate stage).

When I injured my knee recently, naturally, pounds creeped up on me from being inactive. I’d tried The 17-Day Diet as part of an earlier Free Press book review, so I pulled out this book and followed the Accelerating stage once more. I dropped 12 pounds in almost 10 days. Like the last time, I also had more energy, which, along with the nutritional advice in The 17-Day Diet, are  contributing factors of my knee’s healing process.

Both times, I found The 17-Day Dietto be easy, healthy, and versatile, with Dr. Mike’s advice helpful without being condescending or preachy. The beauty of this plan is that if weight is regained, just go back the Accelerate stage until th extra weight is lost, and then return to your Arrive stage. It doesn’t get any easier. I would recommend this book to anyone, whether they need to lose the last ten pounds for a special occasion or need something more long-term they know they can stick with the entire way.
3 thoughts on “The 17-Day Diet by Dr. Mike Moreno

  1. I lost 62 pounds on the 17 day diet. I was a little difficult in the beginning but once the pounds started coming off this is what inspired me to keep going.

    This can be done and here are some recipes to help you reach your weight loss goals.

    17 Day Diet Recipes

    • I totally agree! As of today, I dropped 20 pounds during the Accelerate stage. Soon, I will go on to the Activate stage. Even during the Accelerate stage, one never feels hungry or deprived =)

Comments are closed.