Author Profile: Kat Martin

When New York Times best selling author Kat Martin began following me on Twitter, she became one of the handful of esteemed writers to hold such an achievement. I visited several sites about her on the Web and was more than impressed. I am proud to present Kat as this week’s author profile.

BIOGRAPHY:

From Kat’s official web site:

Currently living in Missoula, Montana, Kat is the New York Times bestselling author of over fifty Historical and Contemporary Romance Suspense novels.  Before she started writing in 1985, Kat was a real estate broker.  During that time, she met her husband, Larry Jay Martin, author of more than twenty books, both westerns and mysteries.  Kat is a graduate of the University of California at Santa Barbara, where she majored in Anthropology and also studied History.

“I’ve always loved books.  I was an avid reader, with any number of my own stories rolling around in my head.  Writing them down seemed a logical step.”

“I love anything old,” Kat says.  “I love to travel and especially like to visit the places where my books are set.  My husband and I often stay in out-of-the-way inns and houses built in times past.  It’s fun and it gives a wonderful sense of a by-gone era.”

Kat began with historical romance and is currently writing romantic suspense.   She is published in twenty foreign countries.


“Often my Contemporary novels blossom from something I’ve read in the newspapers or seen on TV. As was the case with my new book, AGAINST THE WIND. I was cruising along the 90 Freeway crossing Montana, enjoying the crisp fall weather, the brilliant colors of the leaves, and listening to the country channel on the radio.  As I headed toward home, a Trace Atkins song came on, How do you like me now?  It’s a wonderful tune that tells a great story.  And it gave me the kernel of an idea for a story I was able to expand into a book.”

“Most of the time, my story ideas seem to come out of nowhere.  One day I’m looking for a plot for a book and then suddenly, I know that I want to write about Gabriel Raines and his struggle to find the arsonist who is trying to kill him.  Then I search for the woman Gabe is going to fall in love with, no easy task for a macho man like Gabe.  Lady architect, Mattie Baker, filled the spot perfectly, and the book became AGAINST THE FIRE.”

AGAINST THE LAW, the third book in the trilogy, seemed to come fairly easily once I got started.  I loved Dev Raines, the sexiest and wildest of the Raines brothers.  Once Lark Delaney walked into his life, the plot began to roll.  The novel developed as I wrote it, which is unusual for me, and it turned out to be one of my all-time favorites.”


RULE’S BRIDE is the final book in my Brides Trilogy, following ROYAL’S BRIDE and REESE’S BRIDE.  The three novels are stories about the handsome Dewar brother’s, sons of the Duke of Bransford.  RULE’S BRIDE hit #18 on the New York Times bestseller list in May 2010.”

“I had great fun writing this series, though the weddings were not all orchids and lace as the ladies and this writer expected.  Still, true love is worth the perils the characters must endure.”


SEASON OF STRANGERS released in June of 2008, is the final book in a series of three paranormal stories. Each story involves ordinary women who have experienced an extraordinary event. SEASON OF STRANGERS, is an eerie tale of two sisters who discover they are missing a period of time and their search to discover what happened to them during that time. THE SUMMIT, began selling in July 2007 and is the second of a the series. It’s a high-action, fast-paced tale, one with a ticking clock. SCENT OF ROSES was the first book in the series and was inspired by true events and began selling in July 2006.”

“I have always wanted to do this type of series as I know so many women who have themselves experienced unexplainable occurrences.”


“The deliciously passionate Heart trilogy are books all set around the London ladies’ gazette, Heart to Heart.  I chose the period because it was a time when women were beginning to be involved in activities outside the home.  They worked, they owned businesses, they were becoming more outspoken.”

“The first book, Heart of Honor, is a fun whimsical early Victorian romance starring Krista Hart, publisher of a London ladies’ gazette, who is not afraid to speak her mind. When she encounters a powerful, attractive Viking descendant in a sideshow, she angrily demands his release. In the second book, Heart of Fire, journalist Coralee Whitmore vows to uncover the truth about her sister’s death. She suspects the notorious Earl of Tremaine was her sister’s lover. Corrie soon finds the Earl is not all he seems, nor is she immune to his charms. The final book Heart of Courage, is Thor and Lindsey’s story, a fun, sexy read about two people completely unsuited to each other — or so each of them think.”


The Bride’s Necklace trilogy, set in Regency England was hugely successful and was re-issued in September 2010. A compelling series of stories about an heirloom necklace believed to hold the power to bring great happiness or terrible tragedy. THE BRIDE’S NECKLACE , the first book in the trilogy, was first published in January 2005 was re-issued in September 2010. THE DEVIL’S NECKLACE, second book in The Necklace trilogy hit store shelves in August 2005 and was re-issued in October 2010. THE HANDMAIDEN’S NECKLACE, the final book in the trilogy, was originally released in January 2006 and hit the shelves again in November 2010.

ON THE WEB:

Web Site: Kat Martin

Twitter: @luvromance

Facebook Fan Page

